
Kansas State Board of Nursing 
 
 The KSBN is a regulatory agency that 
licenses Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses 
and Licensed Mental Health Technicians.  The role of 
KSBN is to protect the citizens of Kansas.  The 
regulatory process and licensing assures citizens of 
Kansas that nurses and licensed mental health 
technicians have met minimum competence 
requirements.  Testing establishes minimum 
competence.  Statutes and regulations found in the 
Kansas Nurse Practice Act (KNPA) define your scope 
of practice and outline unacceptable conduct.  There 
are actions for which your license may be called into 
question.  When a licensee's conduct is questioned, 
KSBN has authority to investigate and collect 
information.  If a sworn complaint is received KSBN is 
required to investigate you.  
 
K.S.B.N.'s Scope of Authority 
 
 If the KSBN believes a violation of the 
KNPA (K.S.A. 65-1120) has occurred it may 
commence an administrative action against your 
license.  The Board through an administrative action 
may deny, revoke, suspend, limit, or publicly or 
privately censure a license.  The Board may also levy 
fines (K.S.A.74-1110) against a license.  The first 
offense is not to exceed $1,000.00, second offense is 
not to exceed $2,000.00, and third and subsequent 
offenses are not to exceed $3,000.00. 
 
Kansas Administrative Procedure Act 
 
  The KSBN is a regulatory agency.  Being 
licensed is a privilege not a right.  A license once 
obtained, is a form of a property right.  The Board 
takes action against this property right not the person, 
but the action against the license may affect the 

licensee.  Because the license is a property right the 
KSBN must afford you certain constitutional 
protections. All disciplinary actions before the KSBN 
are subject to the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act 
(KAPA).  The KAPA is a set of statutes that outline the 
procedures the KSBN must follow.  It provides for due 
process.  This includes things such as reasonable 
notice, fair and impartial hearing, and right to 
representation, right to question witnesses or present 
evidence.  KAPA is applied to all regulatory agencies 
of varying sizes. 
 
 
What Happens If I Apply During An Investigation? 
 
 
 We receive applications for initial licensure, 
endorsement, renewal and reinstatement.  Your 
completed application is a request for an order or a 
license.  KSBN must acknowledge receipt and status of 
your application within 30 days.  If a question is raised 
and you are investigated, KSBN must complete the 
process in 90 days or “as is practicable”.  KSBN 
licenses over 70,000 people and investigates an 
average of 2300 cases per year.  The majority of 
requests/applications are processed immediately.  If not 
immediately processed you will receive a letter of 
notification from KSBN on your application status. 
 
 
Informal Resolutions 
 
 
 The committee may request the licensee to 
sign an agreement and/or meet conditions designed to 
impose an educational remedy.  In this way the Board's 
primary purpose of protecting the public is met and the 
licensee's practice is improved and maintained. 

Formal Discipline Process 
 
 The process can begin one of two ways. First, 
an applicant may receive a document called 
"Summary Order".  This document states the facts and 
legal reasons for action on a license.  If the licensee 
disagrees he/she may request a hearing.  Second, a 
licensee may be served with a petition stating facts 
and law and asking for action upon the license.   

 The request for hearing by the licensee or 
petition filed by the Attorney General is followed by a 
notice of hearing which sets a time and date for the 
licensee to appear and defend.  The notice gives 
directions on how to ask for additional time (called a 
continuance) if a licensee is unable to appear on the 
date set.  The notice also warns that if a licensee fails 
to appear or contact the KSBN the matter will proceed 
and judgement may be entered in the matter affecting 
the license. Documents and statements may be 
requested by the licensee or the Board’s attorney and 
are exchanged in a process known as discovery. 

 You may appear in front of the entire Board, a 
panel of Board members or the Board’s appointed 
hearing officer.  A licensee may represent yourself or 
be represented by an attorney.  The proceeding is 
recorded.  Oaths are administered to those who testify. 
Each party can require witnesses to appear and testify. 
Each party may cross-examine witnesses presented by 
the other side.  Each party may submit exhibits.  The 
hearing officer / panel may also ask questions. 
Evidence may be written or oral and must be relevant 
to the claim.  Hearsay can be introduced and is to be 
weighed appropriately.  Evidence submitted varies 
from case to case. If your fitness to practice nursing is 
in question, factors to be considered include but are 
not limited to:  (1)  danger to the public health safety 
and welfare,  (2)  the present moral fitness, (3) your 
consciousness of what you did wrong and the effect 
on profession, (4) what you did and are doing for 



rehabilitation (5) nature and seriousness of 
misconduct, (6) current conduct, (7) time elapsed 
since prior discipline or criminal activity, (8) 
character, maturity and experience (9) present 
competence and skill. These points are not all 
inclusive. 

 At the conclusion the hearing officer/panel 
weighs and considers the evidence and renders a 
decision.  A written order, which consists of findings of 
fact, conclusions of law, and any sanctions imposed, is 
served upon the parties after the decision.  Costs of the 
proceeding may be charged to the applicant or licensee. 
 The written order will state the time when it becomes 
effective and provide notice to both sides of their 
appeal rights. 
 
Appeal Process 
 
 Within a set period of time the parties have 
the right to request to have a decision reviewed by the 
Board. If the Board affirms the decision, or if the 
Board declines to review the decision, or makes a 
decision not liked by either party, either party may 
appeal to District Court.  An appeal in District Court is 
subject to an act called the Kansas Judicial Review Act 
(KJRA). 
 Appeals to District Court for the KSBN are 
not tried again.  The KJRA sets out the court's scope of 
review.  The court considers the party’s stated appeal 
grounds and decides whether the KSBN's order/record 
is supported by substantial evidence.  Once the District 
Court enters its order either party, if not satisfied, has 
one more opportunity for appeal to the Court of 
Appeals or Supreme Court of the State.  There are 
established time lines in which such requests or notices 
must be filed. 
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Disclaimer 
 The information provided in this pamphlet is 
not intended to be legal advice or a complete 
explanation of legal rights. 
Note: Statutes available at www.ksbn.org and  
               www. kansas.gov. 
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