BEFORE THE KANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING
Landon State Office Building, 900 S.W. Jackson #1051
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1230

IN THE MATTER OF

CHRISTINA BURNS MAR 1 § 2018
License No. 13-85559-031 Case No. 17-365-7
EFFECTIVEAS A KGN
FINALORDER
SUMMARY ORDER paTE: ,‘.gg.‘\ 5 A0
Now on this Mday of /Wg[ié;// , 2018, this matter comes before the Kansas

State Board of Nursing (Board) pursuant to authority granted to the Board by K.S.A. 65-1106
and K.S.A. 65-1120, to find facts and take disciplinary action against the Licensee, Heidi
Hitchens, by way of Summary Order pursuant to K.S.A. 77-537. Upon review, the following
findings of fact, conclusions of law and order are made for and on behalf of the Board:

FINDING OF FACTS

1. Licensee's address of record is 21855 W. 1215t Place, Olathe, KS 66061.

2. Licensee is currently admitted to practice as an RN in the state of Kansas. The Board
has jurisdiction over the Licensee and the subject matter of this action.

3. At the time of Licensee’s 2017 online license renewal, the Licensee answered “no” to
having the necessary 30 CNE hours. Licensee submitted only 24 hours of approved CNE out of

the required 30 hours of approved CNE during the renewal period.

4. On or about November 21, 2017, Licensee entered a diversion agreement with the
Board.
5. Licensee agreed to complete and submit, (1) the necessary six (6) hours of CNE that

were not completed prior to renewal AND (2) the two hour CNE - The Nurse Practice Act: An
Overview for Nurses home study available through the Via Christi Regional Medical Center:
https://www.viachristi.org/health-professionals/nursingallied-health/cne-wichita within 90 days.
6. The Board agreed to suspend/ dismiss disciplinary proceedings against Licensee so

long as the Licensee fulfilled the terms and conditions of the diversion agreement.



7. The agreed upon CNE hours were due to the Board on February 19, 2018.

8. Licensee did not submit proof of completion of six hours of general continuing education
or the two-hour course on the Kansas Nurse Practice Act to the Board on or prior to February
19, 2018.

9. On February 21, 2018, the Board sent Licensee a letter stating that the Board had not
received proof of completion for six hours of continuing education or two hours on the Kansas
Nurse Practice Act. The letter provide Licensee with an additional 15 days (until March 8, 2018)
to provide the CNE completion certificates to Board.

10. To date, Licensee has not submitted proof of completion of six hours of general
continuing education or the two hour course on the Kansas Nurse Practice Act.

APPLICABLE LAW

11. The Kansas State Board of Nursing has the authority under K.S.A. 74-1106(c)(4) and
K.S.A. 65-1120(a) to examine, license, renew or reinstate licenses and may limit, deny, suspend
or revoke a license or authorization to practice nursing, and may issue a public or private
censure and levy administrative fines consistent with K.S.A. 74-1110.
12. After an investigation, the Board's investigative committee found reasonable grounds to
believe the Licensee violated K.S.A. 65-1120 of the Kansas Nurse Practice Act, and referrer
this matter for further proceedings.
13. The Board requires 30 hours of approved CNE obtained within the prior licensing period
and prior to submission of a renewal. KAR 60-9-106.

VIOLATIONS
14, K.S. A.65- 1120(a)(7), to willfully violate the Kansas Nurse Practice Act and K.S.A. 65-
1117 and KAR 60-9-106, by failing to have completed a program of CNE as required by the

Board.




CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

15. The Board has jurisdiction over the Licensee and the subject matter of this action, and
such proceeding is held in the public interest.

16. The presiding officer whose signature appears below has been designated by the Board
pursuant to K.S.A. 77-514 to act on behalf of the Board to act as a hearing officer and to
execute orders, including summary orders.

17. The Board adopts the above Facts and Violations and finds Licensee violated the
Kansas Nurse Practice Act; K.S.A. 65-1120 as stated above.

18. Based on the facts and circumstances set forth, the use of summary proceedings in this
matter is appropiate, in accordance with the provisions set forth in K.S.A. 77-537(a), in that the
use of summary proceedings does not violate any provision of the law and the protection of the
public interest does not require the Board give notice and opportunity to participate to persons
other than Applicant.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED BY THE KANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING THAT:

1. Christina Burns, RN License #13-85559-031 is hereby suspended.

a. The Board will lift the suspension once Licensee submits proof of
completion of the 2 hour CNE on the Kansas Nurse Practice Act and
Licensee has paid all associated fines and costs of this action.

2, Christina Burns, RN License #13-85559-031 is hereby fined in the amount of
$200. Licensee has 90 days after the effective date of this order to submit
payment to the Board, by check or money order.

3. Costs of this action in the amount of $100 are assessed to licensee,
Christina Burns and shall be paid by check or money order to the Board

within 30 days of the effective date of this order.
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oAnn Klaassen, RN, MN, JD
Presiding Officer
Investigative Committee Vice Chair
Kansas State Board of Nursing

NOTICE OF RIGHTS

Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-537, this Summary Order shall become effective as a Final Order,
without further notice, if no hearing is requested within fifteen (15) days of service. If you desire
a hearing, you must submit or direct a written request for hearing to: Carol Moreland, Executive
Director, Kansas State Board of Nursing, 900 SW Jackson, Suite 1051, Topeka, Kansas 66612-
1230, (785) 296-4325. THIS REQUEST MUST BE SUBMITTED WITHIN FIFTEEN (15) DAYS
FROM THE DATE OF THIS ORDER. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-531, if the Summary Order is
served by mail, three days are added to the time limits set out above.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

M ore s

of the Summary Order was severed by depositing the same in the United States Malil, first-class

|
| certify that on the

day of , 2018, the foregoing copy

postage prepaid, addressed to the following:

Christina Burns
21855 W. 1218t Place
Olathe, KS 66061

L K
Michelle David # 26982
Assistant Attorney General




NOTICE
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that this is a Final Order. A party to an agency proceeding may seek
judicial review of a Final Order by filing a petition in the District Court as authorized by K.S.A.
77-601, et seq. A petition must be filed within 30 days following service of the Final Order. A
copy of any petition for judicial review must be served upon Carol Moreland, Executive
Administrator, Kansas State Board of Nursing, 900 SW Jackson, Suite 1051, Topeka, KS
66612.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| certify that on the O day of /2 /./'? A . 2018, the foregoing copy of the

/

Summary Order, now a Final Order was served by depositing the same in the United States
Mail, first-class postage prepaid, addressed to the following:

Christina Burns
21855 W. 121%t Place
Olathe, KS 66061 oy s

Aushiin Lowry
Senior Administrative Assistant
Kansas State Board of Nursing




