Board Members

Board Member Openings

The mission of the Board of Nursing is to assure the citizens of Kansas safe and competent practice by nurses and mental health technicians.  The Board is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor and meets quarterly in Topeka.  Six members shall be registered nurses, two shall be licensed practical nurses and three shall be members of the general public.  Each appointment as a Board member is a four-year term.

Each member shall be a citizen of the United States and a resident of the state of Kansas.  RN Board members shall have a license to practice as a RN with at least five years experience in nursing and be actively engage in professional nursing in Kansas at the time of appointment.   The LPN Board members shall be licensed to practice practical nursing with at least five years experience in practical nursing and shall be actively engage in practical nursing in Kansas at the time of appointment.  The consumer members shall represent the interests of the general public.  At least one consumer member shall not have been involved in providing health care.

Currently we have four openings on the Board:  one RN, one LPN and two public members.  If you meet the qualifications listed above and are interested in serving as a Board member, you will find more information and the application on the governor’s website.

NOTICE

Board Member email responses may be lengthened due to limited internet access for some members.

Patricia Zeller

MSN, APRN, FNP

Re-Appointed
President
patricia.zeller@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2018 – 06/30/2022

Carol Bragdon

PhD, APRN

Re-Appointed
Vice President
carol.bragdon@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2017 – 06/30/2021

Julianna Rieschick

RN, MSN, NEA-BC


Secretary
julianna.rieschick@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2017 – 06/30/2021

Rebecca Sander

MSN, RN

rebecca.sander@ks.gov
Term: 07/28/2016 – 06/30/2020

Mary Struble

LPN

mary.struble@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2015 – 06/30/2019

Sherri Brown

RN, BSN

sherri.brown@ks.gov
Term: 07/27/2015 – 06/30/2019

Mandy Karstetter

LPN

mandy.karstetter@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2017 – 06/30/2021

JoAnn Klaasen

RN, MN, JD

joann.klassen@ks.gov
Term: 07/01/2016 – 06/30/2020

Vacant

Public Member

Tracie Thomas

Public Member
tracie.thomas@ks.gov
Term: 01/08/2019 – 06/30/2020

Vacant

Public Member