Reinstatement Application

For those applying to return to active status

Reinstatement Application Checklist

Do You Have:

  • 30 hours of CNEs submitted to KSBN? (Please email CNEs to KSBN licensing department, or fax/mail them to the office.)

If Applicable:

  • If you were not active for 5+ years, have you completed a refresher course?
  • If you have legal history to report, do you have your supporting documentation?


  • Pursuant to K.A.R. 60-3-107 (b) applications for licensure while awaiting documentation of qualifications shall be active for 6 months. The expiration date of each application shall be based upon the date of the receipt at the agency. Once the application has expired, each individual seeking licensure shall file a new application along with a new fee as prescribed by K.A.R. 60-4-101
  • Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1120(a): Reinstatement of revoked licenses; burden of proof; board of nursing report to legislature. (a) A person whose license has been revoked may apply for reinstatement of the license after the expiration of three years from the effective date of the revocation. Application for reinstatement shall be on a form approved by the board and shall be accompanied by a reinstatement fee established by the board under K.S.A. 65-1118, and amendments thereto. The burden of proof by clear and convincing evidence shall be on the applicant to show sufficient rehabilitation to justify reinstatement of the license. If the board determines a license should not be reinstated, the person shall not be eligible to reapply for reinstatement for three years from the effective date of the denial. All proceedings conducted on an application for reinstatement shall be in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act and shall be reviewable in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act. The board, on its own motion, may stay the effectiveness of an order of revocation of license.


Portal Guides

Creating an Account
  • Click on “Register a Person” on the left of the login page
    • Fill in your last name, date of birth, and social security number
    • Click “Search”
    • Complete the profile creation form
    • Click “Register”
Resetting My Login
  • Click on “Register a Person” on the left of the login page
    • Fill in your last name, date of birth, and social security number
    • Click “Search”
    • You should now have a page with most of your information already filled in
      • You can reset your userID, password, and password question/answer
      • Make sure these boxes have something in them, they are required to move on
    • Click “Register”
Starting the Application

You will need to sign into your portal account to complete an application. Once you get signed in:

  • Click on “Reinstate License” on the left
    • Find the license you wish to reinstate
      • Click “Continue” in the blue bar above that license
    • Click “Start Application”

You are now filling out the application. Once finished, checkout and print/save your receipt.

If you leave your application for any reason, you will be able to pick it back up by logging in and clicking on “Continue” in the blue bar above your pending application. If the that link isn’t there, check your cart.