Nurse Licensure Compact
The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is Coming!
Kansas is not a compact state. This means that once the compact is implemented, nurses who legally reside in this state may be eligible for a multistate license. The multistate license will provide nurses with the privilege to practice in any compact state whether you are going to that state in-person or practicing via telehealth from Kansas with a patient located in another compact state. The NLC has been operational and successful for more than 15 years and all the safeguards that are built into the current state licensing process are required before a nurse is issued a multistate license.
Currently 31 states have enacted the NLC. You can see a map of the states at ncsbn.org. Kansas and Louisiana will implement the NLC on July 1, 2019.
Check back on our website for updated information as we get closer to July 1st, 2019.
Licensees practicing with a multi-state license must abide by the laws, rules and scope of practice in the jurisdiction in which they are practicing (physically or telephonically). If you obtain your multi-state license in Kansas, you will be required to have 30 hours of approved continuing nursing education at the time of renewal of your license.
Kansas is excited to be part of the nurse licensure compact! There is more information about the NLC at ncsbn.org.